Will I Buy a Chromebook?

A user on Lockergnome.net asked this question, so I thought I’d answer it on the SpecialTech blog.

The question was “Have you guys heard about chromebook. If you did will you get it?” And he provided this link to a page to buy a Chromebook.  If you have read my previous post about a Chromebook, then you already know what I think of it.  A Chromebook is basically just the Google Chrome web browser on steroids.  It cannot handle any major computing, but it does evreything in the cloud where almost everyone constantly is when they boot up their PC.  If you want to know more about the Chromebook, go to this blog post.

So the answer to the question is no, I will never buy a Chromebook; I have two reasons for this.  1)$299 is far too expensive just for a web browser on some ineffective steroids.  2)I do far more on my computer than the Chromebook could handle.  Truthfully, the only reason I could imagine even considering buying a Chromebook would be for an entertainment laptop when I’m on the move.  I would NEVER use a Chromebook as my main place of work.  (Which involves programming, testing, etc).

About specialtechs

Jared's the name, computers are the game. This blog is about computer related material. I'll talk about the hottest software, operating systems and comparisons, hardware and issues, maybe even a written tutorial here and there.
This entry was posted in Computers, Operating Systems, The Web and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment